2DWorlds Forums
Random filter in game - Printable Version

+- 2DWorlds Forums (http://2dworlds.buildism.net/forum)
+-- Forum: 2DWorlds (http://2dworlds.buildism.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Suggestions (http://2dworlds.buildism.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=19)
+--- Thread: Random filter in game (/showthread.php?tid=7363)



Random filter in game - Duck - 07-29-2011

Currently there is no filter in game, there probably should be


RE: Random filter in game - Chaos - 07-29-2011

How about we just rely on people reporting, so it will be easier to code up a report button.


RE: Random filter in game - Login - 07-29-2011

The host of the server should be the one to do as the host pleases to take action. If the host allows an unfiltered environment, then it should be that way, but with warning in regards to the server.

The host takes care of the server and should have the rules, so that is how it is.


RE: Random filter in game - Jacob__mybb_import1 - 07-29-2011

What if I changed the Chatted event so you can return a string to change the message, or false to block it entirely? Then if somebody wants filters, they can code it themselves (should just be a simple string replacement.)


RE: Random filter in game - Login - 07-30-2011

(07-29-2011, 10:38 PM)Jacob_ Wrote: What if I changed the Chatted event so you can return a string to change the message, or false to block it entirely? Then if somebody wants filters, they can code it themselves (should just be a simple string replacement.)
Can you mess with the code to make it a random word?



RE: Random filter in game - Qwertygiy - 07-30-2011

If you're going to have a string replacement, you can code it to be random.

[lua]
local strings = {"FAILZOR", "NOOB", "FAILISM", "ROBLAWKED"}
FilterChat(strings[math.random(1, #strings)])
[/lua]


RE: Random filter in game - Duck - 07-30-2011

(07-29-2011, 10:38 PM)Jacob_ Wrote: What if I changed the Chatted event so you can return a string to change the message, or false to block it entirely? Then if somebody wants filters, they can code it themselves (should just be a simple string replacement.)

That'd be fine